Commonwealth Scholarships for Master’s and Doctoral study in the UK are presented to nationals of developing Commonwealth countries. These scholarships are backed by the UK Department for International Development (DFID) Scholarships are available for Master’s (one-year courses only).

Subject areas:
  • Science and technology for development
  • Strengthening health systems and capacity
  • Promoting global prosperity
  • Strengthening global peace, security and governance
  • Strengthening resilience and response to crises
  • Access, inclusion and opportunity

Eligible University: applicants may apply to study at a UK university with which the CSC has a part funding agreement.


  • Applicant must be a Commonwealth national, refugee, or British protected person.
  • Applicant must be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country.
  • Applicant must be available to begin academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK A.Y. in September/October 2018.
  • Applicant must hold a first degree of at least upper IInd class (2:1) honours standard, or a IInd class degree and a relevant PG qualification; a Master’s degree (By October 2018)
  • Applicant must be unable to afford to study in the UK without this scholarship

How to apply

  • Applicant must apply to one of the nominating bodies
  • All applications must be filed through nominating body in applicant’s home country.
  • Each nominating body is responsible for its own selection process.
  • Applicant must check with the home nominating body for their specific advice and rules for applying, their eligibility criteria, and their closing date for applications.
  • The CSC does not impose any age limit on applicants, but nominating bodies may do so in line with their own priorities.

Eligible Commonwealth countries

  • Antigua and Barbuda
  • Bangladesh
  • Belize
  • Botswana
  • Cameroon
  • Dominica
  • Fiji
  • Ghana
  • Grenada
  • Guyana
  • India
  • Jamaica
  • Kenya
  • Kiribati
  • Lesotho
  • Malawi
  • Malaysia
  • Mauritius
  • Montserrat
  • Mozambique
  • Namibia
  • Nauru
  • Nigeria
  • Pakistan
  • Papua New Guinea
  • Pitcairn Islands
  • Rwanda
  • Samoa
  • Seychelles
  • Sierra Leone
  • Solomon Islands
  • South Africa
  • Sri Lanka
  • St Helena
  • St Lucia
  • St Vincent and the Grenadines
  • Swaziland
  • Tanzania
  • Tonga
  • Tuvalu
  • Uganda
  • Vanuatu
  • Zambia
Quick Overview————-
Organization Commonwealth Scholarship Commission
Fellowship Level Master’s
Country UK
Subject areas Al, disciplines
Fellowship amount Varies
Eligibility Open to Commonwealth countries
Deadline 30 October 2019


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *